Script Angel is very proud to sponsor the 29th Writers’ Guild Awards, to be presented on Monday 14 February 2022 at the Royal College of Physicians in central London.

Writers' Guild Awards 2022 Nominations Announced
The Writers’ Guild Awards 2020. Sophie Petzal (left) receives Best Long Form TV Drama from Danny Brocklehurst PHOTO MATT WRITTLE © copyright Matt Writtle 2020.

The ceremony will honour two years of British writing talent, following the cancellation of last year’s awards due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

WGGB President Sandi Toksvig OBE said: “What a fitting day to celebrate the cream of British writers – who have kept us entertained on page, stage, screen and across the airwaves, through such dark times.

“Our creative industries play such an important role, as do all those who work within them, and we hope our awards ceremony on Valentine’s Day will send this message – you matter, we care, and thank you for your words, which have lifted us all up over these past two years.”

The shortlist in 15 categories follows (in addition, a special award for outstanding contribution to writing is presented at the ceremony every year):

Best Long Form TV Drama
Adult Material by Lucy Kirkwood
I Hate Suzie by Lucy Prebble
It’s A Sin by Russell T Davies

Best Short Form TV Drama
BBW by Yolanda Mercy
Elizabeth is Missing by Andrea Gibb
Time by Jimmy McGovern

Best Long Running TV Series
Doctors, Series 21, Episode 81, ‘The Joe Pasquale Problem’ by Stephen Keyworth
Holby City, Series 21, Episode 50, ‘Kintsugi’ by Martin Jameson
River City, Series 21, Episode 28 by Jillian Mannion

Best TV Situation Comedy
Feel Good by Mae Martin and Joe Hampson
Frayed by Sarah Kendall
This Way Up, Series 2, Episode 4 by Aisling Bea

Best Children’s TV Episode
Aardman’s The Epic Adventures of Morph: Chas Air by Tim Bain
My Mum Tracy Beaker: I Want My Mum Back by Emma Reeves
Paddington & The Love Day Cards by Hannah George

Best Radio Drama
Body Horror by Lucy Catherine
The Half Widow by Avin Shah
The Tenderness of Boys by Oliver Emanuel

Best Radio Comedy
From the Oasthouse: The Alan Partridge Podcast by Steve Coogan, Neil Gibbons and Rob Gibbons
Olga Koch: Fight by Olga Koch and Charlie Dinkin
The Kurupt FM Podkast, Series 2 by Asim Chaudhry, Hugo Chegwin, Allan Mustafa and Steve Stamp

Best Writing in a Video Game
Amnesia: Rebirth by Ian Thomas
Overboard! by Jon Ingold
Röki by Emma Beeby, Sam Dickinson, Tom Jones, Alex Kanaris-Sotiriou and Danny Salfield Wadeson

Best Screenplay
I Care a Lot by J Blakeson
Sorry We Missed You by Paul Laverty
The Personal History of David Copperfield by Simon Blackwell and Armando Iannucci

Best First Screenplay
His House by Remi Weekes, from a story by Felicity Evans and Toby Venables
Promising Young Woman by Emerald Fennell
Rocks by Theresa Ikoko and Claire Wilson

Best Play
Once Upon a Bridge by Sonya Kelly
Shook by Samuel Bailey
The Syrian Baker by Kevin Dyer

Best Play for Young Audiences
Germ Free Adolescent by Natalie Mitchell
Heavy Weather by Lizzie Nunnery
Whatever Happened to the Jaggy Nettles? by Martin Travers

Best Musical Theatre Bookwriting
Black Love by Chinonyerem Odimba
The Prince and the Pauper by Chinonyerem Odimba
Ride by Freya Catrin Smith and Jack Williams

Best First Novel
A Strange and Brilliant Light by Eli Lee
The Lip by Charlie Carroll
The Manningtree Witches by A K Blakemore

Best Online Comedy
How to be Maggie: With Maggie P by Kate-Lois Elliott
Remember getting the period talk at school #Menopause by Hannah George, Taylor Glenn and Catie Wilkins
Where Did It Come From? Series 1, Episode 2, ‘The Hat’ by Ralph Jones and Vyvyan Almond

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Why not share this post?

Post by:

Hayley McKenzie